share

latest news

Funding Available to Support Teams Applying for the 2020 Walkability Action Institute

Date:
November 14, 2019
Topics:
Bicycle& Pedestrian, News, News Homepage

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), in partnership with the National Association of Chronic Disease Directors (NACDD), will host the 6th Annual Walkability Action Institute (WAI) April 13-16, 2020 in Decatur, Georgia. The purpose of the institute is to prepare interdisciplinary teams from MPO, COG, RPO, RTPO or similar regional agencies with action plans to pursue policy, systems, and environmental supports for walking and walkability. A competition for travel funding is now open for up to eight teams from 16 states: Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Illinois, Kentucky, Minnesota, Missouri, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, Utah, and Washington.

WAI Application Instructions:
The Request for Funding Assistance (RFA) and team application form is available on the WAI page at https://www.chronicdisease.org/page/WAI.  Applications for funding are due by 11:59 p.m. Eastern on December 20, 2019.

November 18th Informational Webinar:
Learn more about WAI on a Zoom webinar scheduled for November 18, 2019 at 12:00 p.m. Eastern/11:00 a.m. Central/10:00 a.m. Mountain/9:00 a.m. Pacific.  Register for the webinar.